Yorkshire & North East

Yorkshire, Durham, Tyne and Wear, Northumberland

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

The Sjøvoll Centre
DH1 5BZ

30 June 2017
9:30 am - 4:00 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics.

CALL FOR WORKSHOPS

Lectures, masterclasses, workshops and more. All teachers of physics, technicians and trainees welcome. The event is funded by IOP and is free to participants.
This popular day for everyone teaching physics is a mix of practical workshops, inspiring talks and congenial networking. Workshops will be available to book at a later date.
Parking: car parking spaces at The Sjovall Centre are restricted so the use of public transport or the public car parks in Pity Me are recommended.

National Stem Learning Centre
YO10 5DD

29 August - 1 September 2017 (residential)

EVENT FOCUS

Our First Year course covers core topics such as electricity, energy and forces. You'll be exposed to a range of ideas and resources to address teaching issues, including gender balance in the classroom.
There will also be plenty of social activities for you to enjoy!
Places are currently open to non-specialist teachers of physics in SPN Partner Schools only.

National Stem Learning Centre
YO10 5DD

29 August - 1 September 2017 (residential)

EVENT FOCUS

Our Second Year course introduces radioactivity, momentum and waves. You'll also build on the foundations laid out in the First Year programme.
There will also be plenty of social activities for you to enjoy!
The second year course is for teachers who've previously attended a first year course.
Places are currently open to non-specialist teachers of physics in SPN Partner Schools only.

West Yorkshire

Request this workshop in 2017

CALL FOR WORKSHOPS

Making something abstract concrete is a useful tool for those teaching physics. Cloud chambers allow students to see the paths that ionising radiation has travelled. In this workshop you get to make a take away a cloud chamber big enough for a group of people to see into. You'll also get ideas for getting the most out of your dry ice.

Your regional team


Jill Collins

Higher Education Liaison Officer

J.Collins@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 4888

Rachel Hartley

TLC Team Leader

rachel.hartley@iop.org

07920 291 896

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Bob Kiddle

bob.kiddle@iop.org

07850 311 220

David McKean

david.mckean@iop.org

07720 084 415

Michael Rolley

michael.rolley@iop.org

07850 311 226

Ruth Wiltsher

ruth.wiltsher@iop.org

07850 311 228

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Cara Hutton, Skiption Girls' High School

huttonc@sghs.org.uk

Les Lambert, St Bede's Catholic Comprehensive School & Sixth Form College

llambert@stbedes.durham.sch.uk

Link School with Adviser

Michelle Duffy, Carmel College

mduffy@carmel.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Ruth Wiltsher

ruth.wiltsher@iop.org

Geoffrey Heywood

pnc12ne@gmail.com

Gender Balance Officers

Jenniy Search

jenny.search@iop.org

Claire Aspinall

claire.aspinall@iop.org

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

>>>>>>>>