Subpage Regions

regions

Regions

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

Stimulating Physics Network Events in the North West

Event Location Date More Details
 
Cosmic Ray Telescopes at the University of Birmingham School of Physics and Astronomy
B15 2TT
21 September 2016
10.30pm - 3pm
Book your place via Richard Bonella.
Event Focus...
Following her successful seminars over the past two years, Professor Cristina Lazzeroni will lead another theory and practical session on cosmic ray telescopes. In the morning, we’ll review of what is known about cosmic rays. After lunch (provided free of charge by the IOP) there will be a hands-on session with a cosmic ray detector.

Sessions will be pitched for teachers who may not be specialists in particle physics, but will include opportunities for those with greater knowledge to update themselves. The aim is that everyone should be comfortable with what they teach – plus a little more.


External Liaison Officer

Rachel Eppy
STEM Education North West
Birley Building, Birley Fields Campus
53 Bonsall Street
Manchester
M15 6GX
spn@nw.slcs.ac.uk
0161 247 2944

Teaching and Learning Coaches

Christine Mayson - Team Leader
christine.mayson@iop.org
07540203721

Richard Bonella
richard.bonella@iop.org
07971464187

Christopher Embrey
christopher.embrey@iop.org
07720084417

Diana Farley
diana.farley@iop.org
07720084416

Darren Forbes
darren.forbes@iop.org
07525631496

Brendan Ickingill
brendan.ickringill@iop.org
07850312419
@B_Ickringill

Graham Perrin
graham.perrin@iop.org
07540203720

Louise Wheatland
louise.wheatland@iop.org
07525631496

Physics Network Coordinators

Anne Duffy
Cumbria
duff@everingham1.freeserve.co.uk

Lucas Hayhurst
Merseyside
lht@blueyonder.co.uk

David Cotton
Preston
dcotton@cardinalnewman.ac.uk

Phil Furneaux
Cumbria
p.furneaux@lancaster.ac.uk